Symphony on the Prairie for Summer Nights

Symphony on the Prairie for Summer Nights

Photo Courtesy of Blueyephotos.com

Despite having a brand new baby last summer, we still wanted to enjoy all of the things we’ve enjoyed in summers past. One of my husband’s favorite outings is Symphony on the Prairie at Conner Prairie. Almost every weekend throughout the summer, a huge crowd gathers on the lawn at Conner Prairie and listens to beautiful music from the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and special guests. Sometimes the Symphony doesn’t play and there are guest performances but either way you and your family will enjoy your evening out!

There are at least two different experiences to be had at SP and we’ve been fortunate enough to be a part of both of them. Generally we arrive early (performances start at 8pm but gates open earlier. Between our friends we bring a few bottles of wine (don’t forget the corkscrew and cups), some cheese and crackers and dessert. Sometimes we pack a whole dinner so that we can get to Conner Prairie first and grab some seats in the shade.
Another special seating arrangement is to have a reserved table. I will warn you that many people go all out when they have a reserved table: table linens, candles, dishes, centerpieces and beautiful dinners. I would not recommend this seating option when you have young children but it would be a nice special treat for you and your closest friends or family (seating for up to 10 at the table). Usually you are still able to purchase a table at the gate the day of the concert but you’d do better to reserve your table ahead of time (317.639.4300).
From 6 to 9:30pm you can take a ride in the teethered hot air balloon for $20. Someday I’m going to do this! Someday! If you are going to attend multiple nights or bring friends with you, there is a value pack of tickets available for $180 for 10 tickets. This is a great deal because individual tickets cost $22 in advance or $27 at the gate, children ages 2-12 are $11 in advance or $13 at the gate. Tickets can be purchased online at www.indianapolissymphony.org or at Marsh grocery stores. Parking is free but you can upgrade to premium parking (super close) for $20.

Concert Schedule

Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue
Saturday, June 16, 8 p.m.

Heroes & Victors – Music from Sports Greatest Films
Friday, June 22, 8 p.m. | Saturday, June 23, 8 p.m.

The Music of Queen
Friday, June 29, 8 p.m. | Saturday, June 30, 8 p.m.

Star Spangled Symphony (Please note that tickets are $27 in advance and $30 at the gate for these 3 special performances)
Monday, July 2, 8 p.m. | Tuesday, July 3, 8 p.m. | Wednesday, July 4, 8 p.m.

Disco at the Symphony – A Tribute the the Bee Gees
Friday, July 6, 8 p.m. | Saturday, July 7, 8 p.m.

The ISO Goes Global – The Music of our Sister Cities
Friday, July 13, 8 p.m. | Saturday, July 14, 8 p.m.

The Best of Broadway!
Friday, July 20, 8 p.m. | Saturday, July 21, 8 p.m.

Glenn Miller Orchestra with the ISO
Friday, July 27, 8 p.m. | Saturday, July 28, 8 p.m.

An Evening with Don McLean
Friday, August 3, 8 p.m. | Saturday, August 4, 8 p.m.

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons
Friday, August 10, 8 p.m. | Saturday, August 11, 8 p.m.

The Classical Mystery Tour: A Tribute to the Beatles
Friday, August 17, 8 p.m. | Saturday, August 18, 8 p.m.

Diamond Rio
Friday, August 24, 8 p.m. | Saturday, August 25, 8 p.m.

The Contours – 50 Years of Motown!
Thursday, August 30, 8 p.m. | Friday, August 31, 8 p.m.

Jon McLaughlin
Saturday, September 1, 8 p.m. | Sunday, September 2, 8 p.m.

Big Bad Voodoo Daddy
Friday, September 7, 8 p.m. | Saturday, September 8, 8 p.m.

About The Author

Katy Mann

My name is Katy Mann, and I'm the creator of Indy with Kids. With over 10 years of experience working with children, and my excitement towards the great city of Indianapolis; I offer readers guidance about great events and activities to do around Indianapolis with their kids and grandchildren. Join us on our family travels and adventures across the country!


Warning: file_get_contents(https://graph.facebook.com/comments/?ids=https://indywithkids.com/symphony-on-the-prairie/): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request in /home/iwk/public_html/wp-content/plugins/facebook-like-and-comment/comments.php on line 17

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/iwk/public_html/wp-content/plugins/facebook-like-and-comment/comments.php on line 19